Share

The Gmail “Undo Send” Feature is here to stay – for good

We all have faced the problem of accidentally hitting the reply to all button while sending messages to a certain person, or have sent a mail without a requisite attachment or file. But all these issues can now be avoided, thanks to Google. They have now rolled out the “UNDO SEND” feature for all Gmail users, which allows you to recall a certain mail within approximately 30 seconds of sending it. The feature’s Lab version was originally secretly launched 5 years ago, but the final version has just been rolled out.

It was previously quite a popular feature in the Gmail Labs platform, and was also added to the Inbox by Gmail app. Now, it is being added to Gmail as a proper setting, which users can select, unselect, choose the recall time, and customize based on preference. The Inbox by Gmail is an Android and iOS app that helps users to keep all mails in an organized manner by way of highlighting all the important ones. The “UNDO SEND” feature will not be available as a setting on the app, but only for web based Gmail users.

The feature can be activated on Gmail web by clicking on a “gear” icon, which can be seen at the top right corner, and then selecting the “SETTINGS” menu from the drop down list. The feature can be activated in the general settings tab, where you need to make sure that the feature is check marked. You will now have to set a recall time for the feature, which can vary between 5 seconds and 30 seconds. 30 seconds is the best option, because 5 seconds will pass in the blink of an eye. As long as you don’t deactivate your account, or uncheck the feature, it will stay activated with the preset or customized settings, as specified above.

Try the Magic

  1. Click the gear icon in the top-right corner of your Gmail window and click on to the Settings option from the dropdown menu.
  2. Scroll all the way down where you see “Undo Send” and click “Enable Undo Send” option.
  3. Click on “Save Changes” at the bottom.

Gmail Undo Send

 

With a long list of feature on the Gmail Labs platform, such as the Unread message icon, GOOGLE Calendar widget, Google Maps preview and custom keyboard shortcuts, this recently rolled out new “UNDO SEND” feature is similar to icing on the cakes. You can test all these features if you log in to Gmail Labs. After enabling some of these features, you can SAVE all your changes by selecting the “SAVE CHANGES” option at the bottom of the website.

If you want to recall a mail or a reply, you just have left click on the “UNDO SEND” hyperlinked message, which can be seen at the top of the Gmail account page after the mail has been seen. Take heed that if you click a different link on the Gmail page itself, the UNDO SEND text will disappear, and you won’t be able to recall the mail. Also, if your internet connection is a bit on the slower side, then the recall feature may not work properly. So bear these facts in mind before enabling the feature. The feature is perfect for people who are in the habit of forgetting important attachments while sending a mail.

So, Guys I think this is one of the best features which Google has introduced in Gmail which will susequently minimize the fear of sending wrong emails.

If you really enjoyed reading this article then like us on Facebook,Twitter or Google plus.

You may also subscribe to Gizmofacts in You tube for getting more information about software tips & tricks.

Featured Image Credit:commons.wikimedia.org

Add Comments

Leave a Comment